top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaitlyn Marie

Don't Get Comfortable!

Hey!! Did you miss me? haha

It looks like we are finally in the final stretch of quarantine! Things are slowly going back to normal here in Texas!! I hope y'all had an amazing week!

I decided to do this blog kind of on what the last blog was on, suffering.

But this one is about not getting too comfortable?

So, what does that mean?

Well, to answer that question we are going to the old testament! I don't know about y'all but I used to be seriously intimidated by the old testament. All the poetry didn't make sense and the stories...how was I supposed to relate to them? But, when I finally decided to take a deeper look into the Old Testament and I was blown away by it!


So, today we are going to be diving in Jeremiah 48!








A lot of you guys don't know my story, and maybe one day I will share it. But, for now I will just say my life hasn't been the easiest. I used to be almost agitated or kind of ashamed of my past. But, now I love it! It made me who I am today, and has helped me encourage so many others, just by using my story.

One of the many things that I was blessed with because of what I went through was, my mother's and my relationship. We are so close because one thing is for sure, is that we've always had each other. We've been side by side through it all.

One of the phrases my mom tells me a lot is, "Me and you, kid. It's always been me and you." Those simple words may not mean a lot to you but they have helped me through so much!

So, when I was talking about this passage and what it was about my mom chuckled and said, "Well, we've have not had a comfortable life."


So, Jeremiah 48 basically screams one message: "DON'T GET COMFORTABLE!!!!"

Jeremiah 48:11 says, "Moab has been at ease from his youth and has settled on his dregs; he has not emptied from vessel to vessel, nor has he gone into exile; so his taste remains in him, and his scent not changed."

Moab has had it pretty easy, their life has been war free.

You may be asking yourself, "What is Moab?"

Well, just like is this passage Moab has been the setting for some passages in the Bible.

  • The actual person Moab was Jacob's second cousin, the son of Lot, and the grand-nephew of Abraham. (Genesis 19:37)

  • Ruth was from Moab; she was a Moabite. (Ruth 1:4)

  • The people of Moab were involved in blocking the way for God's people to enter the Promised Land. (Genesis 22:3-4)

I hope that gave you a better visualization of Moab.

Alrighty back to the passage:

So we have established that Moab has had a pretty good life, but why is this a bad thing?

Isn't having a comfortable life what we want?

Well, no!

"For, because you trusted in your works and your treasures, you also shall be taken...How do you say, 'We are mighty heroes and mighty men of war?'...Come down from your glory and sit on parched ground." ~Jeremiah 48:7,14,18

Moab was comfortable, but also they were prideful.

They got so comfortable that they thought that they no longer had to rely on God, they instead relied on themselves and a god called Chemosh.

The Moabites did not need to rely on the Lord's strength, so their hearts were far from him. Without challenges, people tend to rely on themselves, instead of God.

One of my the quotes I love, but have absolutely no idea who said it! haha

"May I never forget on my best days that I still need God as desperately as I did on my worst days."

So, what did God do about Moab's pride?

"Moab shall be destroyed and be no longer a people, because he magnified himself against the Lord." ~Jeremiah 48: 42

Moab was full of pride, so God wanted them to go through this suffering so it would humble them and bring them closer to Him.

This may sound a little harsh, but God is more interested in preparing us for what he has in store for us than keeping us comfortable.

But, it doesn't end there, God promises this, "Yet, I will restore the fortunes of Moab in the latter days, declares the Lord."

Even after all that Moab has done, God was still going to restore them.

Just to give an example that relates to our time period: It's like when our parents would take away all of our toys away when we were younger, because we weren't behaving like we should have. They do this to teach us a lesson, and it molds us into the amazing people we are today! And once we learn our lesson, what do they do? Well, they restore what they took!

Moab was prideful and didn't think that they needed a Savior, well, God opened their eyes because we are all in need of a savior.

"Christ did not come to bring a throne built on pride, but one established with humble love rooted in God's promises."

~Sarah E. Frazer

So if you aren't comfortable right now, or anytime in your life, instead of focusing on the pain, focus on what God is trying to teach you through this!


Love ya'll!! I hope you enjoyed this! Can't wait to talk to ya'll next week!🌸




19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page