top of page
Search

The number 18

Updated: Aug 31, 2019

Some people turn 18, and it means almost out of high school, freedom, or that we are officially an adult.


When I turn 18 it’ll be so much more. It’ll mean I kept a promise to myself, that I made when I was a wee little 6th grader. Do you want to know what that promise is?



I’m assuming if you are still reading this, then you want to know!


Ok, the promise I made to myself is.......

(INSERT DRUM ROLL)

Not to date any guy, no matter what until I’m 18.


Why? Why did I make that promise to myself, you may ask?


Well, I’m so glad you did!


You see in middle school, I saw soooo many pointless relationships. A guy and a girl would get together, act all couple like, then in about a week or two it would be over. The girl would cry for about a day, then move on to the next boy.

I thought this was ABSURD!

So as a 6th grader, I decided I wanted no part of it. So I made a promise to not date until I was 18.

And let me tell you that was most definitely not the most popular route. I heard all kinds of things.

“Why?”

”You‘ll never make it.”

”What about all the high school sweet hearts that made it?”

Or just a blank stare. <— This is a fan favorite!


And more.


But also there was sooo much more to it than that.


I have seen so many girls loose their heads when it comes to guys. (Me included, so I’m not pointing fingers)

Girls would forget their friends, only want to talk with/ hang with him, etc.

I didn’t want that!

You only have 1 childhood. So I wanted to make good meaningful relationships, make everlasting memories, have fun, and be a kid! I didn’t want the drama of a relationship, clouding or getting in the way of that!

Now don’t get me wrong I’m not completely against dating in High-school. It just wasn’t something I was interested in. This was my decision, not my parents, or anybody else’s; it was mine!

I also am not against romance or dating. I am the first girl to jump in and watch a chick flick rom-com, and read a romance book.

This also isn’t easy. There has been several times were I didn‘t want to tell a guy that I liked, about me not dating until I’m 18. It takes A LOT of imagination, by the way, to bring that delicate topic into a conversation. And it happened a couple times that a guy would be interested in me saying he just wanted to be “friends”, but as soon as I told him that about my 18 promise, he would disappear never to be seen again.

Did it hurt?

Yes.

Was it easy?

No.

But looking back was it worth it?

Yes!!! Yes!!! Yes!!!

I don’t want to treat dating like a game. I want to date on a mission. Mission to find my potential future husband. And I thought 18 was a good starting line.

Now, does this mean, I’m going to run up and down my street on my 18th birthday yelling, “I’m free! I can date!” And grab the first guy I see?

No, heaven sakes no!

I still have some rules.

Like:

1.) The guy must be a strong Christian, with a good

relationship with the Lord.

2.) We must be friends first! I want to get to know

the guy!

3.) And this is the one where guys normally, are like

nooooo way! They have to ask and get my dad’s

approval before they ask me on a first date.

(And my dad is not small. I have been told on

several occasions that he is intimidating!)


So yeah, I’m not normal! My standards are high, but not unreasonable, because it’s my heart on the line. And I’m not just gonna hand it over to anyone!

Thankfully my parents love this promise I have made, and have helped me.

Every crush, no matter how big or small, I tell it to my momma.

She has a superpower, she can read just about anyone! So whenever I like a guy I tell her, then I get her thoughts on him! Sometimes I like her thoughts , and sometimes not so much, but (I’m not gonna hear the end of this) she has always been right!

My dad also has some amazing points to throw in there about guys, and dating! He’s honest and hard on the guys. And its not just because I’m his little princes, ok maybe a good portion is about that, but he’s honest with me and wants what’s best for me, and that’s what matters!

Then I also pray about every single crush, as well. I don’t want to go into a relationship, or have a super big crush on a guy, unless God says so.


I haven’t completed my promise yet! I still have several months to go! But I’m excited and I can’t wait to tell little 12 year old me!

“That you did it! It wasn’t easy, but it was a wise, smart, and one of the best middle school decisions you made!!”


I hope you have a great week!

And if you have any more questions about this, feel free to email me!


Or find me on Facebook or Instagram and shoot me a Dm!

My name on both accounts:

—> Being perfectly imperfect <—




P.S. Continue Being Perfectly Imperfect!

103 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page